Wednesday, September 27, 2023

The London Forgery + Give Away

The London Forgery JustRead Blog Tour

Welcome to the Blog Tour for The London Forgery by Heidi Eljarbo, hosted by JustRead Publicity Tours!

About the Book

The London Forgery

Title: The London Forgery
Series: A Fabiola Bennett Mystery #1
Author:
Heidi Eljarbo
Publisher:
Independently Published
Release Date: August 29, 2023
Genre:
Historical Cozy Mystery, Dual Timeline

1973. Art historian Fabiola Bennett sees herself as a prudently observant deer who becomes a daring and even mischievous lioness if the situation calls for it. And that’s exactly what’s required when greedy criminals steal, forge, and tamper with treasured artwork. When the crooks add murder to their list of crimes, the chaos is complete. 

A mysterious note is delivered anonymously at the door of the National Gallery in London, and the director immediately calls Fabiola’s office in Oslo and pleads with her to come without delay. The message is confusing, but it seems one of her favorite eighteenth-century portraits is in trouble. 

Fabiola hops on the first plane and meets up with her vibrant side-kick Pippa Yates and the ever-loyal Detective Inspector Cary Green from New Scotland Yard. But she is not na├»ve enough to think untangling the purpose and meaning of the mysterious note will be as simple as a walk in Hyde Park. These things never are.  

1750. Newly married Robert and Frances Andrews, members of the landed gentry of Suffolk, England, hire young and talented Thomas Gainsborough to paint their wedding portrait. Their desire is a lovely conversation piece showing their wealth and class, an artwork to remember them by for generations to come. 

Little do they know the gifted artist portrays their personalities exactly how he perceives them, and the artistic symbolism is not as flattering as they’d hoped for. Even the looming clouds in the distance promise a troublesome future.  

This is the first book in a new dual timeline series by Heidi Eljarbo—an intriguing spin-off from the much-loved Soli Hansen Mysteries. 

Fans of Lucinda Riley, Rhys Bowen, Kathleen McGurl, Kate Morton, and Katherine Neville will love this cozy historical art mystery, which takes the readers back to the nostalgia of the groovy seventies and the classical Georgian era of the eighteenth century.

PURCHASE LINKS: Goodreads | Amazon | BookBub


Book Excerpt

AN OLDER MAN—distinguished but a bit worn-looking—stood in Mr. Wilson’s office when
Fabiola returned.
Leaning forward, Mr. Wilson asked, “What did you find out?”
She opened her mouth to answer when the older man cut in.
“Aren’t you going to introduce us, Wilson?”
The museum director wiped his forehead again. “Of course. This is Fabiola Bennett, our art
history specialist. Fabiola, may I present Detective Chief Inspector Goode, head of New
Scotland Yard’s Art and Antiques Unit?”
Goode leaned his head back and shook her hand. “I know your mother. A true art connoisseur
extraordinaire. I’ve never met anyone as gifted or as pleasant in my entire life.”
Fabiola was used to people complimenting her mother, and Goode seemed sincere, despite his
self-important tone and demeanor.
“She has always been quite remarkable when it comes to art…and wise in many other things,
as well,” Goode continued, placing his folded hands on his protruding stomach. “Fabiola
Bennett. Hmm. Your first name is unusual for a Norwegian, is it not?”
“It certainly is. I was the only Fabiola in my class at school,” she said with a playful smile.
“My parents named me after a seventeenth-century woman they shared a special bond with.”
His face still solemn, he looked her up and down through half-closed lids. “So, now you’re
here.”
“Yes, Director Wilson contacted me.”
Goode wandered around the room. “I’m not sure a woman like yourself can be of help in this
matter.”
“A woman such as myself?” She concentrated on her best behavior despite a growing
frustration toward the haughty, old gentleman.
He didn’t respond. Maybe he didn’t have a reason for saying what he’d said. Although she
just met him, she pegged him as the type to speak just so he could hear his own voice.
Fabiola’s impatience grew. At this point, only she and the criminal or criminals were aware of
the fake Gainsborough. As soon as the detective chief inspector had finished establishing his
position as almighty and powerful, she’d explain the situation. She crossed her arms and
began to tap her foot. He just needed to hurry up.

About the Author

Heidi Eljarbo

Heidi Eljarbo is the bestselling author of historical fiction and mysteries filled with courageous and good characters that are easy to love and others you don't want to go near.

Heidi grew up in a home filled with books and artwork and she never truly imagined she would do anything other than write and paint. She studied art, languages, and history, all of which have come in handy when working as an author, magazine journalist, and painter. 
 
After living in Canada, six US states, Japan, Switzerland, and Austria, Heidi now calls Norway home. She and her husband have a total of nine children, fifteen grandchildren—so far—in addition to a bouncy Wheaten Terrier. 
 
Their favorite retreat is a mountain cabin, where they hike in the summertime and ski the vast, white terrain during winter. 
 
Heidi’s favorites are family, God's beautiful nature, and the word whimsical.

Connect with Heidi by visiting heidieljarbo.com to follow her on social media and sign up for email updates.


Tour Giveaway

(2) winners will win a print copy of "The London Forgery", an eBook "Of Darkness and Light" and a $10 Amazon gift card!

The London Forgery JustRead Tours giveaway

Full tour schedule linked below. The giveaway begins at midnight September 26, 2023 and will last through 11:59 PM EST on October 3, 2023. Winner will be notified within 2 weeks of close of the giveaway and given 48 hours to respond or risk forfeiture of prize. No shipping restrictions. Void where prohibited by law or logistics.

Giveaway is subject to JustRead Publicity Tours Giveaway Policies.

Enter Giveaway


Follow along at JustRead Tours for a full list of stops!

JustRead Publicity Tours

3 comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to comment!

 
Creative Commons License
Woven by Words by Mimi B is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.