Friday, March 12, 2010

Raven’s Ladder/Lady Carliss and the Waters of Moorue Blog Tour

Raven’s Ladder

by Jeffrey Overstreet

Published by: Random House, Inc

ISBN-13: 9781400074679

Number of Pages: 368

Following the beacon of Auralia’s colors and the footsteps of a mysterious dream-creature, King Cal-raven has discovered a destination for his weary crowd of refugees. It’s a city only imagined in legendary tales. And it gives him hope to establish New Abascar.

But when Cal-raven is waylaid by fortune hunters, his people become vulnerable to a danger more powerful than the prowling beastmen––House Bel Amica. In this oceanside kingdom of wealth, enchantment, and beauty, deceitful Seers are all too eager to ensnare House Abascar’s wandering throng.

Even worse, the Bel Amicans have discovered Auralia’s colors, and are twisting a language of faith into a lie of corruption and control.

If there is any hope for the people of Abascar, it lies in the courage of Cyndere, daughter of Bel Amica’s queen; the strength of Jordam the beastman; and the fiery gifts of the ale boy, who is devising a rescue for prisoners of the savage Cent Regus beastmen.

As his faith suffers one devastating blow after another, Cal-raven’s journey is a perilous climb from despair to a faint gleam of hope––the vision he sees in Auralia’s colors.

My Review

Ok, lets just say "my bad". I know that there are books in a series that can be read out of order and it's no big deal. THIS is not one of those books! I started reading through Raven's Ladder and by the 3rd chapter felt like I had no idea what was going on. This is book 3 so imagine all I've missed out on!

The world these characters live in is completely foreign to me. They speak about creatures I've never read about, places I've not had characters visit, and people I had yet to meet and come to know. With a book like this, you absolutely need to start from Book 1 to become entwined in the lives of the people you are reading about.

What I did read was awesome. The reader is transported to another time and place. King Cal-Raven is trying to find a home for his followers and there are those who are out to stop him. They have their own plans. Thankfully Willy is in several key places at just the right time and he's determined to prove himself worthy to Cal-Raven.

I plan on getting the first two books so that I can go on the adventures with these characters from beginning to end. Honestly, I could tell from the start that I was truly missing out on quite the adventure! If you enjoy Christian fantasy, this would be a great series!

About the Author

Jeffrey Overstreet is the author of The Auralia Thread, the fantasy series which begins with Auralia’s Colors, a thrilling adventure twice-nominated for a Christy Award, and Cyndere’s Midnight. He is an award-winning film critic and columnist, his work appearing in many publications including Image, Paste, and Christianity Today. He is also the contributing editor for Seattle Pacific University’s Response magazine. Jeffrey writes in the coffee shops of Shoreline, Washington, with his wife, Anne.

Lady Carliss and the Waters of Moorue

by Chuck Black
Published by: Random House, Inc
ISBN-13: 9781601421272
Number of Pages: 176
Ages: 9-12

Determined, smart and a master of both the sword and the bow, Lady Carliss has proven herself as a veteran Knight of the Prince. Returning from a mission of aid, Carliss is plunged into adventure once again as she searches for the marauders responsible for kidnapping a friends’ family. Along the way she is reunited with Sir Dalton and discovers that the struggle in her heart is far from over. When Dalton falls to the vicious attack of a mysterious, poisonous creature, Carliss finds herself in a race against time. As Dalton clings perilously to life, she must find the antidote in the distant and strange city of Moorue.

While there, Carliss uncovers the master plot of a powerful Shadow Warrior that will soon overtake the entire Kingdom. Her faith in the Prince and her courage as a knight are tested as she faces evil Shadow Warriors and a swamp full of dreadful creatures. The lives of many, including Dalton’s, depend on Carliss. But she cannot save them all, for time is running out. She faces an impossible choice: save Dalton, or let him die so that others may live.

My Review

I read book 2 Sir Bentley and Holbrook Court, but missed book 1 and 3! These books can be read independently, but I would suggest reading them in order. I was so bummed knowing I was missing part of the underlying story. Guess from my review above I would've learned my lesson!
Thankfully, I've read at least one of the books in this series so I understood the characters in the story. Right from the start the reader understands that there's a wonderful parallel between who the King and the Prince are (God and Jesus). The characters either are aligned with the King, are against him, or are undecided. Sound familiar?

Right from the beginning the reader feels like they're on an amazing adventure. Lady Carliss is heading home to do some soul searching and from the start nothing seems to go right. Lord Dalton shows up and is attacked by some freaky lizard creature. Lady Carlilss and her friend take Dalton to the next town and go in search of a rare serum that could save his life...before 9 days pass!!

Yes, Christian fantasy, it is possible! Chuck Black has done a fine job of creating this world. As I've said before, I wasn't sure if this genre would be acceptable, but there are some great authors doing the job. Chuck Black will be one my boys will love once they are old enough. If you have daughters who enjoy fantasy, they will love Lady Carliss because of her strength; not just physically, but morally as well.

About the Author

Chuck Black, a former F-16 fighter pilot and tactical communications engineer, is the author of nine novels, including the popular Kingdom series. He has received praise from parents across the country for his unique approach to telling biblical truths. His passion in life is to serve the Lord Jesus Christ and to love his wife, Andrea, and their six children. He lives with his family in North Dakota.

*These books were provided for review by the WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group.

To learn more about Raven's Ladder visit:

To learn more about Lady Carliss visit:


Post a Comment

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to comment!

Creative Commons License
Woven by Words by Mimi B is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.